Vacation and Small Miracles

Paris

Paris

Time has been flying by this summer so I’m posting this a little later than I had planned on. Life was pretty hectic with doctor appointments and trying to get off on my vacation to Paris and London. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to make my trip because of my severe headaches. The neurologist sent me to the neurosurgeon to see about having a shunt placed on my brain. The neurosurgeon wanted to run his own tests to rule out the possibility of some other causes. It turns out everything is related to my lupus and he ordered another lumbar puncture and had my spinal fluid drained pretty low. So for now I’m going to live with the pseudo tumor cerebri condition and have lumbar punctures as needed. I can get by without the shunt unless the condition starts effecting my eyes and optical nerve.

Just as I got the headaches under control then I caught bronchitis and lost my voice 2 weeks before vacation but with antibiotics and prayer it cleared up and I was on the plane headed for Paris with my friend Mary Alice before I knew it.

Paris did not disappoint. I had dreamed of going there since I was about 12 years old. Seeing the Eiffel Tower in person was amazing and going up to the top of it was even more amazing and breathtaking. I loved everything about this city and wished I had more time to spend there. Our time went by so fast and before we knew it we were off to London. It was nice to hear everyone speak English again. London was huge and like Paris full of things to see and do and so much history and culture. We had a fabulous time here and as with Paris not enough time to do everything.

Kensington Palace

Kensington Palace

Vacation was a trip of a lifetime. What an amazing opportunity it was to experience these cities and their culture. My doctor’s advised against it because of my health but I never had a bad feeling about it and always felt I could do it. Well, I did do it and without any trips to the hospital, but I know it was because I had so many people praying for me. Once again I was on the receiving end of experiencing some of God’s small miracles in my daily life. There’s nothing greater than the power of prayer and having faith in my Savior.

4 Comments

Filed under Lupus, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Vacation and Small Miracles

  1. Norma Barker

    So happy all went well for you and you were able to live your dream! You have incredible faith and gratitude!

    Like

  2. I’m especially gratefull you got to go too and bring me home the fancy Le Cure Gourmande chocolate cookies!

    Like

Leave a comment